Fremont County Heritage is near completion
  • 5

Fremont County Heritage is near completion

Colorado Territory was established by Congress February 28, 1861. On September 9, 1861, the first Territorial Legislative Assembly met in Denver and divided the Territory into seventeen counties. Fremont County is one of the original. It initially encompassed what is now Custer County, which was formed in 1877, and part of Teller County which was formed in 1899. Fremont County was named for Colonel John C. Fremont who explored Fremont County during several expeditions from 1843-1848.

Canyon Horizon is excited to bring this website to completion.  It offers readers information about Colorado’s rich heritage and development.  History buffs can re-inact the characteristics of Colorado’s pioneers.

See this site’s development here

Recent Projects View More

Twitter Follow

Recent Posts More Articles

Contact Us